CAHI Awards

2022 CAHI Award Recipients

Jean Szkotnicki, retired CAHI President


Dr. Jost am Rhyn, CVMA                               

CAHI Industry Leadership Award

We are pleased to announce that Mr. Jost am Rhyn of the Canadian Veterinary Medicine Association (CVMA), is the 2022 recipient of CAHI Industry Leadership Award!

Mr. am Rhyn has served as the CEO of CVMA and the Registrar of the National Examining Board (NEB) since 2002. He has work diligently for the past 20 years to provide the veterinary profession with tools to be successful in business, practice and have a work-life balance. Some of the many accomplishments that can be credited to his leadership include the CVMA Business Management Program, the CVMA Leadership series as well as many collaborations and partnerships with national and international associations and industry partners.

To learn more about this award and to see past winners, click here.

Toni Bothwell, Zoetis Canada

Dr. Normand Ploudre, Boehringer Ingelheim

CAHI Chair’s Award

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Normand Plourde, of Boehringer Ingelheim, is the 2022 recipient of the CAHI Chair's Award!

Dr. Plourde has positively shaped the animal health industry through the breadth of his contributions. He has been one of the CAHI representatives on the CAFHPEC (previously CAHPRAC) Committee for over 10 years. He has been on the CAHI Stewardship committee for the last 7 years and he took part in a bilateral committee with ROEB looking at establishment licensing and related issues. His enthusiasm and steadfast leadership with the animal health industry has been ever-present throughout each step of his dynamic career.

To learn more about this award and see past winners, click here.

Industry Leadership Award

Our Industry Leadership Award is an external award that recognizes and honours outstanding accomplishments by individuals or organizations that have significantly contributed to the field of Canadian animal health.

Winners are selected by a committee who assess nominee: 

  • Leadership
  • Accomplishments
  • Innovative spirit
  • Involvement in the cause of animal health

Past Winners:

Year Recipient

Dr. Mary Jane Ireland

Canadian Food Inspection Agency

2020 Jean Szkotnicki
Canadian Animal Health Institute

Melissa Dumont

Animal Nutrition Association of Canada


Dr. Doug MacDougald

South West Ontario Veterinary Services


Crystal Mackay

Canadian Centre for Food Integrity

2016 Canadian Integrated Program for Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance (CIPARS)
Public Health Agency of Canada
2015 Dr. Murray Jelinski
Western College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Saskatchewan
2014 Dr. Jacques Messier
CEO, Toronto Humane Society
2013 Dr. Maurice Smith
2012 Dr. John Prescott
Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph
2011 Dr. Yves Goselin
Hôpital Vétérinaire Riv-Sud, Centre Vétérinaire Laval
2010 Drs. John Hilton, Brent Matthew, Donal McKeown, James Patterson
Founders of Veterinary Medical Diets “Medi-Cal”
2009 Dr. Clayton MacKay
Hill’s Pet Nutrition Canada
2008 Dr. Patricia Dowling
Canadian gFARAD, Western College of Veterinary Medicine
2007 Stan Eby
Canadian Cattlemen’s Association
2006 Dr. Bernhard Pukay
Alta Vista / Bayview Animal Hospitals
2005 Dr. Duane Landals
Canadian Veterinary Medical Association, Alberta Veterinary Medical Association
2004 Dr. Brian Evans
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
2003 Dr. Lorne Babiuk
Veterinary Infectious Diseases Organization
2002 Dr. Otto Radostits
Western College of Veterinary
2001 Drs. Tim Guichon, Kee Jim
Feedlot Health Management Services
2000 Dr. Camille Moore
Mopork Inc.
1999 Dr. Reuben Mapletoft
Western College of Veterinary Medicine
1998 Dr. Ken Leslie
Ontario Veterinary College
1997 Ontario Farm Animal Council

CAHI Chair’s Award

CAHI’s Chair's Award was created to recognize the significant contributions made by its individual members.  The award is presented to an individual who has made exemplary contributions to the CAHI and our objectives.

Winners include individual(s) nominated from CAHI’s Full or Associate Members companies and are evaluated by the CAHI Board of Directors based on:

  • Devoted significant time to industry issues
  • Demonstrated enthusiasm for the CAHI
  • Had a willingness to tackle new tasks and initiatives
  • Made notable commitments and contributions to CAHI


Past Winners:

Year Recipient

Dr. Brad Kuntz

 Bio Agri Mix LP

2020 Toni Bothwell
Zoetis Canada

Paul Lake

Bio Agri Mix


Byron Beeler

Beeler Consulting Inc.


Dr. Randy Bagg

Elanco Animal Health (Canada)

2016 Tracey Firth
Canadian Animal Health Institute
2015 Sue McGee
2014 Dr. Pierre Gadbois
Vétoquinol N.-A. Inc.
2013 Dr. Helene Langlois
Merck Animal Health
2012 Dr. Marike Dussault
Pfizer Animal Health
2011 Bill Maxwell
Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada) Ltd.
2010 Brendan Ginty
Veterinary Purchasing Company Ltd.
2009 Adrian Bayley
North American Compendiums Ltd.
2008 Charlotte Foster
Schering-Plough Animal Health
2007 Dr. Paul Doig
Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada) Ltd.
Dr. Bruce Groves
Pfizer Inc.
Dr. Don Wilson
Bayer Inc.
2006 Normand Robichaud
Vétoquinol N.-A. Inc.