2023 "Cutest Pets on Parliament Hill" Contest

2023 Cutest Pets on Parliament Hill Logo


CAHI is thrilled to introduce our finalists in the first annual "Cutest Pets on Parliament Hill" contest! We received a LOT of phenomenal entries from Parliamentarians, Senators, staffers and members of the Press Gallery on Parliament Hill, who submitted photos and some amazing stories about their beloved pets and our panel of judges had the incredibly difficult task of narrowing it down to the top three in each category below.

Our non-partisan panel this year was made up of experts who spend their days surrounded by cute pets, working hard to improve the lives of Canadian dogs, cats, and other pets, in communities that face challenges with access to veterinary care.  Facing the difficult task of choosing the finalists for Cutest Pets on Parliament Hill were:

  • Dr. Linda Jacobson, President & Treasurer of the Canadian Animal Shelter & Community Medicine Association
  • Dr. Karen Ward, Chief Veterinary Officer at the Toronto Humane Society
  • Lyall Martin, Supervisor & Animal Control Officer, Six Nations of the Grand River Territory Animal Control Services
  • Laura-Lee Kelly, Community Health Representative, Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation

Our judges had a really hard time picking their favourites from so many amazing entries, and their choices for the finalists were by no means unanimous, so now, in true Canadian fashion, we’ll harness the power of democracy to crown this year’s winners.  We hear that some Parliamentary pets might even be gearing up their own campaigns to GOTV (Get out the vote)…

Now we need your help to crown the "Cutest Pets on Parliament Hill" in what Politico has called the Hottest Vote on the Hill!

In case you find choosing your favorites as hard as our judges did, we have some background bios provided by each pet’s human to help you out. To vote for the Cutest Dog, Cutest Cat and Cutest Other Pet on Parliament Hill, simply click on the Vote button for your favourite photo in each category.

Voting closes June 5th at 9am EST